Friday, July 25, 2014

Davis County Summer Shorts Festival

Bloomfield - "The Davis County Players are preparing for their 2014 "Summer Shorts" short play festival, which will take place Friday and Saturday, August 1 and 2, at the Iowa Theatre on the historic Bloomfield square in Bloomfield. This will be the fourth installment of the festival, which was first launched in 2010.

Seven short plays -- all penned by playwrights from the state of Iowa -- were selected for production on August 1 and 2 at 7 p.m. Audience members will get the opportunity to vote for their favorite play, and the winning playwright will receive $100, with additional prizes for favorite local play and favorite play written by an author under the age of 18.

As always, there will be additional entertainment, including musical performances by local singers and songwriters, Emmy Mote, Sophia Cook and Stacey McCoy. There will also be some original, down home "Cowboy Poetry," presented by John Pisarik -- always a favorite for the Summer Shorts audience.

There will also be artwork by local artists on display in the Kay Burchette Center, adjacent to the Iowa Theatre. All of the short plays are between 5 and 15 minutes long, and the theme this year is "The Phone Call" -- meaning each of the plays has something to do with a phone call.

The plays will all be performed by local actors, who are directed by local directors. Once again, the show will be hosted by emcee Gail Wortmann.

Plays selected for production this year include:

Written By Greg Freier, Norwalk
Directed by Joanna McCoy.
Starring James Grob and Russ Mikels.

Written by Brittany Derby & Zack Musgrove, Drakesville and Bloomfield
Directed by Brittany Derby and Zack Musgrove
Starring Brittany Derby, Jess Fenton, Tyler Breeding, Jen Fenton and Michelle Grob

(Under-18 Winner)
Written By Sara Lawson, Bloomfield
Directed by Michelle Grob
Starring Chris Ball, Harrison Van Mersbergen and Hailey Swan

Written by James Grob, Bloomfield
Directed by James Grob
Starring Joanna McCoy and Jack Knox

Written by David Patterson, Fairfield
Directed by Michelle Grob
Starring Aaron Gingerich and Nathan Bierl

Written by Eva Adderly, Iowa City
Directed by James Grob and Chris Griffin
Starring James Grob and Chris Griffin

Written by Greg Freier, Norwalk
Directed by Michelle Grob
Starring Paul Fleetwood and Julie Griffin"

Source: DCP Press Release

No comments: